Repainting DnD Miniatures

I’ve tried to repaint the miniatures in the DnD Dungeon Command series, with varying degrees of success. Mostly, I used them to experiment with shading and metallic paints when I first started painting. I mean, it’s not like they were going to end any worse than their already botched factory paint jobs!

“Baldrick, praying is for the weak.”

I needed a human fighter in heavy armor, and seeing as we didn’t have a miniature for Baldrick’s lord… why not just dab some red paint on a miniature, repaint the metals and let a fellow player use it on the battlefield?

I do have to say that the cloak looks absolutely terrible. Long surfaces of cloth are something I am still learning to paint. As for the rest of the miniature, I was going to do a basecoat of Vallejo’s awesome G.C. Tinny Tin 72060 in order to paint gold on top of it, but after seeing the result, I ended up just washing it with Citadel’s Nuln Oil, doing a soft drybrush on top of the darkened metal and highlighting with Citadel’s Runefang Steel. I really like the way it turned out, even though the transition into the highlights is way too abrupt. Oh, and I completely botched the face; I’m still thinking of stripping it in order to fix that, but… with so much to paint, I think I’ll just leave it as is, a nice remainder of something I should never do again.

20150628_015321

This was a quick paint job done in the exact same manner, but using Vallejo’s M.C. Bronze 70.998 instead of the Tinny Tin used for the Fighter. The figure itself comes from the Castle Ravenloft boardgame (which comes in blue, unpainted plastic), and served as a placeholder for our female Paladin (it was one of the few female figures I had at the time). Note to self: find the courage to try and learn to paint eyes… eventually.

The goblins (from a different box) were simply a test to see how well Citadel’s Agrax Earthshade adhered to unprimed, factory paint jobs. Granted I should’ve actually washed the miniatures with warm water and soap before trying to put any paint on them, but it didn’t work that poorly. After highlighting some metal bits and weapons they were good enough to use for tabletop DnD.

Leave a Reply

