Paladin (DnD Wrath of Ashardalon)

Time for another PC mini. Dredd, the Human Paladin of Helm in my campaign lacked a miniature that properly portrayed the character, and that was the perfect excuse for me to try and paint some white (something I had been meaning to do for a while).

IMG-20160406-WA0010
Original mini next to another DnD figure I painted a long time ago

Painting white has always been a pain for me. This time, I resolved myself to actually try a proper method of achieving decent results. This was going to be a paladin dressed in whites, golds and blues, so after cleaning and priming the miniature, it was time to start laying out blue layer after blue layer, applying a heavy and generous drybrush of lighter and lighter blues everytime.

20160410_173214

Of course, since this is a Wrath of Ashardalon mini, the flash and the moldlines are horrible, and given the limited amount of time I had… not nearly a perfect job. I even had to fill a missing bit on the cape, which is something I really need to practice doing.

After a few passes of blue, it was starting to get there. Lots of getting impatient and painting over not-fully-dryed paint sort of made it look rougher, but again… limited time. As it is, I consider it a “good-enough for tabletop” job.

20160417_152707

I eventually got to painting actual white… which wasn’t easy. Took me three passes with pure white to achieve the color below.

20160417_203328

Not half bad. Considering I was still going to paint the gold on top and do some cleanup afterwards, it was good enough a base to work with. I also did a thick blue wash on the cape and some parts of his clothes, which I left to dry overnight so I could prime the next day, but…

… while I was priming it, the color started to come off. I was horrified and tried to minimize the damage, but it was done. Sigh. Will probably have to clean it up someday, sometime in the future. It’s a shame, since the blue looked really rich before priming, as can be seen above. Oh well. No use crying over washed-away ink.

The most attentive or familiar with the original miniature may notice I cut off the pickaxe-looking thing it was brandishing as a weapon. I was not a fan of it, plus it was another excellent excuse to try something new… magnets.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is a sword I got in a bundle of assorted Warhammer weapons. After cutting off the handle and adjacent hand and arm, I superglued a small magnet to the bottom of it, and did the same to the top of Dredd’s hand after drilling a hole big enough to accomodate the small magnet.

IMG-20160408-WA0015

IMG-20160408-WA0017
*SNAP*

It will allow to switch weapons in case Dredd decides to switch things up and smite things with a hammer, mace, axe or some other smiting tool. All in all, it was a fun quick project and the player is happy with the mini, so I am happy. He’s quite the contrast to his dark, soturn Warlock party member!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Miniature

Human Cleric (DnD Wrath of Ashardalon)

Citadel
  • Runefang Steel (sword blade)
  • Nuln Oil (shading gold parts)
Vallejo
  • M.C. Burnt Umber 70941 (sword hilt)
  • M.C. Gold 70.996 (armor details and sword guard)
  • G.C. Blue Ink 72.088 (cape and blue bits of cloth)
One thought on “Paladin (DnD Wrath of Ashardalon)

Leave a Reply

