Golang Gopher (3D Printed)

A coworker uses the Golang Gopher as his avatar at work. Seeing as he’s leaving the company, I decided to 3d print him a goodbye gift.

The model is the Go Gopher by cattaka on Thingiverse. It took about 6h to print at 0.04 resolution. The main body is a single piece, but the rest are printed on a sprue that needed disassembly.

20190306_075641

 

Disassembled and painted the bits. Skin tone is Vallejo MC Flat Flesh.

20190306_222612

 

I have been meaning to try a new color of primer I got for some blue minis – Plasti-kote 21118 Gloss – Mediterranian Blue. I was skeptical at it having a gloss finish, but it was cheap and the shade of blue looked like what I needed.

After a coat, the main body looked good enough for assembly.

20190310_113240

 

Here it is after a single coat of varnish. All in all it was a very easy print, build and paint. Nothing fancy, but the end result is pretty good. I’m pleased with the shade of blue, and I think it does look quite a bit like the Golang cartoon Gopher!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment