Kobolds (DnD Wrath of Ashardalon)

A long, long time ago, I posted a Kobold Raiding Party (DnD) from the Wrath of Ashardalon Dungeons and Dragons boardgame. These were some of my first minis and, while I got to experiment with priming them and had a lot of fun with their cousin Klak, Kobold Sorcerer (DnD Castle Ravenloft), I never really finished the Raiding Party. Time to rectify that.

Wow… this was a while ago. I remember using my very basic recipe for painting bone on the skull shields. The metals are a combination of Vallejo Bronze and Games Workshop’s Runefang Steel. The skin on the whiter ones must have been Vallejo Game Color Dead Flesh or even Vallejo Buff. The “fluorescent” yellow was a craft store paint I was trying out, and that has let me down before.

They actually looked a lot closer to finished than I remember, so I did little to them. A bit of a highlight, some washes and painting the base black so they fit with the rest of the Raiding party.

Highlighting the “fluorescent” yellow was a challenge, as I no longer have that paint or anything that resembles it, so I had to improvise and ended up trying to give those ones spotted scales… with mixed results. I did not want to spend a lot of time on these, as they have been unfinished for long enough and, truth be told… the details aren’t the best. As I never took the time to clean the mould lines, they do not look quite as good as they could. As long as they are tabletop-ready, that’s already an improvement.

 

They look quite good next to the sorcerer. And these being finished )as finished as they will ever be) means there is only one member left… and that will be the captain of the Raiding Party. Something for another day.

20200406_200757

20200406_200325

Title

Leave a comment